illuminem logo
illuminem logo
  • Rankings
  • Use Cases
  • Pricing
  • Media
  • More
illuminem logo

About illuminem

AboutCareersBecome a Thought Leader

Advertising

Advertise with usPromote EventsOur Reach

Support

FAQsContact Us
Terms & Privacy Policy

© 2026 illuminem. All rights reserved. Various trademarks held by their owners.

  1. Home
  2. ›
  3. Industries
  4. ›
  5. hospital & health care
  6. ›
  7. Icon
Company logo

Icon | Sustainability Performance

https://www.iconplc.com
Linkedin

Contract research organization providing outsourced development and commercialization services

1990

Ireland

10,001+ employees

Biotechnology

$1B - 10B in revenue

$100M - 500M in profitability

Submit or report inaccurate dataDownload Company Insights

Sustainability Ranking & Industry Benchmark

#48
Overall
#1
in Ireland
#1
in Biotechnology

Sustainability Maturity

​​0123456789​​%

Sustainability Intent

Available in
Scale package

Access
​​0123456789​​%

Industry Rank

24 out of 251

Overview
Environmental
Carbon emissionsEnergy consumption
Social
Diversity and inclusion
Governance
TargetsESG scores and exclusionsB-corp & CDP
Financial Data
Business performanceCapital & innovationAnalyst projections

View similiar companies


Company logo
Odyssey Social Care

Ireland, Hospital & Health Care, Hospital & Health Care


Company logo
Resilience

Ireland, Hospital & Health Care, Hospital & Health Care


Company logo
PRA Health Sciences

Ireland, Hospital & Health Care, Biotechnology

CO2 scope 1 + 2

15.7K CO2e tonnes, 2024
Leading

Renewable energy

65% 2024

Female engagement

72% 2024
Leading

Market cap

13.7B $, 2026▼9.1% YoY

Revenue

8.3B $, 2025▼0.4% YoY

Carbon emissions

Reveal data for 1 credit

Industry rank: 5 out of 251


Total CO2 emissions
(CO2e tonnes)

Industry rank: 5 out of 251

Scope 1
Scope 2 location based
Scope 3 downstream
Scope 3 upstream
Industry benchmark
(adj. for revenues)
Powered by illuminem and GIST Impact

Renewable energy

Reveal data for 1 credit
65%2024

Industry rank: 7 out of 251


Total energy consumption
and % renewables
(MWh, % of consumption)

Industry rank: 7 out of 251

Total energy

Share of renewable energy

Industry benchmark

Powered by illuminem and GIST Impact

Renewable electricity

Reveal data for 1 credit
%2024

Industry rank: Beyond Top 100


Total electricity consumption
and % renewables
(MWh, % of consumption)

Industry rank: Beyond Top 100

Total electricity

Share of renewable electricity

Industry benchmark

Powered by illuminem and GIST Impact

Intensity


Greenhouse gas intensity (Scope 1, 2, 3)(tCO₂e /$M)
Industry Benchmark

45.2

B/M 129.3


Powered by illuminem and GIST Impact

Female engagement

Reveal data for 1 credit

Share of female employees (%)

Share of female board members

25
50
75
100
Company
Benchmark
Powered by illuminem and GIST Impact

Controversy level


Very Low
Low
Noticeable
High
Severe
Download Controversy Analysis
  • ICON plc, Irish-headquartered global CRO (acquired PRA Health Sciences 2021 for USD 12 billion), has faced sustained US FDA Form 483 observations at multiple clinical trial sites and the contested historic Bracket/Endpoint Adjudication Service legacy quality compliance, plus periodic class actions over alleged inadequate disclosure of biotech customer concentration affecting institutional shareholders.
Powered by illuminem

Carbon emissions breakdown

Reveal data for 2 credits

KPIMetricYear
20202021202220232024Benchmark
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
**************----**************
Powered by illuminem and GIST Impact

Market cap

13.7B $, 2026▼9.1% YoY

Revenue

8.3B $, FY2025▼0.4% YoY

EBITDA

442.0M $, FY2025▼9.1% YoY

Operating margin

5% Industry: -370▼198.4% YoY

Revenue & EBITDA

$8.3BFY2025 revenue

Total Annual
Revenue & EBITDA
($ B)

Annual revenue
EBITDA
3 year change
Powered by illuminem

Revenue by region


Revenue by region %

Ireland
Other
Rest of Europe
United States

Powered by illuminem

Margin trends


Margin as % of revenue

Gross margin
Operating margin
Net margin

Powered by illuminem

Free cashflow

1.1B 2024▲8.8% YoY

Capex

168.0M 2024▲16.7% YoY

Debt/equity ratio

0.4 Industry: 2▼NaN% YoY

Return on invested capital

2.0%FY2026

Return on invested capital (ROIC)
Industry benchmark

Powered by illuminem

Analyst revenue estimates & actuals


Analyst consensus vs actuals
($ B)

Actual revenue
Consensus estimates
Estimate only

8.1

▼ 0.3%

2023

8.3

▼ 0.0%

2024

8.3

▲ 2.7%

2025

10.1

2030

Powered by illuminem

Environmental policy coverage

Carbon reduction policy

Available

Human rights policy

Available

Recycling policy

Not available

Workplace health & safety policy

Available

64%
Independent Directors

7 out of 11 incl. management

Powered by illuminem

SBTi targets and commitments

TargetStatusTemperature alignmentYear
Near-term targetTargets set1.5°CFY2028
Long-term targetTargets set1.5°CFY2050
Net-zeroTargets set-2050
Business Ambition 1.5°CNot disclosed--

Target details

Overall Net-Zero Target: ICON plc commits to reach net-zero greenhouse gas emissions across the value chain by FY2050. Near-Term Targets: ICON plc commits to reduce absolute scope 1 and 2 GHG emissions 61.2% by FY2028 from a FY2019 base year. ICON plc also commits to reduce absolute scope 3 GHG emissions 20.0% by FY2028 from a FY2022 base year. Long-Term Targets: ICON plc commits to reduce absolute scope 1 and 2 GHG emissions 90.0% by FY2050 from a FY2019 base year. ICON plc also commits to reduce absolute scope 3 GHG emissions 90.0% by FY2050 from a FY2022 base year

Powered by illuminem and Science Based Targets initiative. Last updated: 07 Nov 2024

Sustainability targets and commitments

TargetYearValueScopeBaseline

Overall score

59

Environment

54

Social

83

Governance

40

Exclusion screening

Adult content

Not available

Alcoholic

Not available

Animal testing

Available

Firearms

Not available

Tobacco

Not available

Gambling

Not available

Nuclear

Not available

Powered by illuminem

CDP Scores


Climate Score

Not disclosed

Water Score

Not disclosed

A

A-

B

B-

C

C-

D

D-

Powered by illuminem and GIST impact

Reporting

sustainability report symbol

Sustainability Report

Available

image report
Available
image report
Available

Sustainability employees


Total sustainability employees

11+



    Available in
    Scale package

    Access
  • Email

  • Email